Journey to a 10K.

As a runner, throughout my entire adolescence, my mom tried desperately to get me to join her on the track. I remember like it was yesterday, going to the outdoor track next to our house almost every day, riding my bike or reading a book while my mom went round and round and round the track. After her 12th time around, like any child, I became EXTREMELY bored.

Unfortunately, it wasn’t until I was 18 and moved out of the house that I caught the running bug. For almost 10 years now, I have been consistently running. Now, by running, I mean I run for fun. I have never participated in any races and in general I only run approximately 10 – 15 miles a week, which really isn’t that much.

This year, I have decided to make a list of goals to accomplish in 2013. One of these goals was launching this blog. The other is to participate in a race. Rather than starting off with what normal people would do, a 5K, the nut-job in me decided my first race would be a 10K.

This past week was my first week of training. I thought the easiest way to accomplish my training was to download an app. The Nike+ Running App is great for running, but it doesn’t have a training option. I ended up downloading the Run Training App for free. This app has several training options to choose from. I have used it three times and am pretty happy with it, aside from the fact that the GPS doesn’t seem to be working on it. I’m not sure if it is because I am using it indoors, but to fix that problem, I just run my Nike+ App the same time I run the Running App. This way, I know how far I have gone and my pace.

I am already a runner, so I cheated a bit and jumped to week 5 of the 13 week training program. Each week consists of three days of running. I now have one week under my belt and feel great! I must say, I was pretty surprised how sore I actually was. Typically, I can run a 4 or even 5 miler with no soreness. Now that I am doing interval running with this training program, I am actually a bit sore!

I’ll keep you updated from time to time on my journey to a 10K, so stay tuned! And to give me a little bit more motivation, I just purchased these new beauties.

ascics running shoes

Leave a Reply

